GERMANIA -- It was on November 10, 1886 by a resolution introduced by Supervisor Lehman, that the Town of Germania was detached from the Town of Fairbanks and made a separate town.

 The first town meeting was held April 15, 1887 in the home of Ed. Shermerhorn who presided at the meeting and received $5.00 for the use of his home for such purpose.

At that meeting Herman Sawnke [Swanke] was elected chairman, Ed. Shermerhorn and David Durow were elected supervisors, H.A. Weichman was elected clerk, J.A. Rudolph, treasurer; Ernest Lehman, assessor; Chas. Klenke and Chas. Mahlzen, Justices of the Peace and Chas. Klenke, constable. Twenty-six votes were cast by the first settlers of the new township who were: Herman Leitzke, Sr., Ernest Horning, Ernest Lehman, Frank Hitz, Sr., Fred Monicke, Gustave Damraw, Dave Durow, Nels Nelson, Gharles Block, William Kessel, August Korth, Chas. Malzen, Chas. Foth, H.A. Weichman, W. Wilker, Julius Steinke, James Smith, W. Zuelke, Wm. Borchardt, Wm. Breaker, Herman Swanke, E.W. Swanke, Ed. Shermerhorn, August Schroeder, and Chas. Klenke.

Two school districts were created July 2, 1887. District One school was for the children of twelve years of age, and District Two for young people seventeen years of age. The first school board members were Fred Monicke, director; Ernest Horning, clerk; Herman Wilker, treasurer.

The first sawmill in that township was built in 1887 when Herman Swanke, Herman Wilker, Wm. Otterman and Henry Hillman went into partnership to build the mill. Later on the partnership was dissolved and Herman Swanke was the sole owner of the mill. In 1891 it burned down and Mr. Swanke then rebuilt the mill in Tigerton.

In 1890 the town built a Town Hall out of rough logs 20x30 feet with rough lumber floor at a total cost of $300.00. Forty acres of land were purchased in Section 16 for a site for the Town Hall. Later, the town sold thirty acres of that piece and retained ten acres.

Information furnished by:
Paul Lehman, Chairman,
Town of Germania 


  UPDATED 1 APR  2001